Canadian Open announces preliminary field

Bill Paul and the RCGA today announced some of the players the organization expects to compete in the tournament, which is held in September at Vancouver’s great Shaughnessy Golf Club.
Interestingly, four of the players announced today golfed in a paid event for Bell Canada earlier in the year, but event organizers said it definitely wasn’t a case of appearance fees. Those four players are Chris DiMarco, Fred Funk, returning champ Vijay Singh and Mike Weir. No real surprises here. But you’ll also won’t see Tiger, Phil and Retief in this lineup. We’ll have to see how many golfers are willing to head to Vancouver. It could be ugly.

Here’s the list:

Stuart Appleby
Peter Lonard
Geoff Ogilvy
Stephen Leaney

Brian Davis
Justin Rose

Vijay Singh

Shigeki Maruyama

New Zealand
Craig Perks

Carlos Franco

South Africa
Tim Clark
Rory Sabbatini

South Korea
K.J. Choi
Kevin Na

Jesper Parnevik
Carl Pettersson

Phillip Price

United States
Chris DiMarco
Fred Funk
Rich Beem
Shaun Micheel
Sean O�Hair
Chris Riley
Hank Kuehne
Mark Calcavecchia

Related Articles

About author View all posts Author website

Jeff Lancaster

Jeff Lancaster is the Publisher of

Leave a Reply